Conductive keratoplasty: a radiofrequency-based technique for the correction of hyperopia.

Transactions of the American Ophthalmological Society · 2005 · Benefit · Moderate evidence

← Research stream
BenefitModerate evidencePaper 3556

In a prospective multicenter clinical trial of 400 hyperopic eyes, 54% achieved 20/20 or better uncorrected visual acuity and 92% achieved 20/40 or better at 12 months. Refractive outcomes were within 0.50 D in 61% and within 1.00 D in 88%; at 24 months there…

Study snapshot

PublicationTransactions of the American Ophthalmological Society · 2005
Study typeother
Reported directionBenefit
Evidence ratingModerate

Abstract

PURPOSE: To evaluate the data on the safety, effectiveness, and stability of conductive keratoplasty (CK), a thermal, radiofrequency-based technique for treating 0.75 to 3.00 diopters (D) of spherical hyperopia. METHODS: A prospective, consecutive series, multicenter clinical trial involving 400 hyperopic eyes was conducted by 19 surgeons at 12 centers. The treatment goal was emmetropia. Cohort follow-up was up to 2 years. RESULTS: At 12 months postoperatively, data were available for 97.5% (354/363) of eyes for efficacy variables and 98% (391/400) of eyes for safety variables. A total of 54% of the CK eyes showed 20/20 or better uncorrected visual acuity, and 92% showed 20/40 or better at 12 months. The mean postoperative manifest refractive spherical equivalent was within 0.50 D in 61% and within 1.00 D in 88%. After CK, eyes were approximately 0.50 D myopic at month 1 and effectively emmetropic at 6 months. At 24 months, there was a 20% loss of initial effect. Safety results showed a 2-line loss of best-corrected visual acuity in 2% of the CK-treated eyes. The incidence of induced cylinder of 2.00 D or greater was below 1%. CONCLUSION: The CK technique corrects low to moderate hyperopia effectively and safely and with acceptable stability. It spares the visual axis, does not require the creation of a large flap, and is not associated with postoperative dry eye. CK has value as an alternative to hyperopic LASIK for patients with hyperopia.

Machine Enhanced Logic

AI evidence extraction

Structured fields below were generated from the paper’s abstract and metadata to make the evidence easier to inspect. Automated extraction may be incomplete or incorrect; verify important details against the original paper.

Study typeother
Effect directionbenefit
PopulationHyperopic eyes (0.75 to 3.00 diopters spherical hyperopia) undergoing conductive keratoplasty
Sample size400
ExposureRF
Evidence strengthModerateConfidence: 74% · Peer reviewed: yes

Main findings

In a prospective multicenter clinical trial of 400 hyperopic eyes, 54% achieved 20/20 or better uncorrected visual acuity and 92% achieved 20/40 or better at 12 months. Refractive outcomes were within 0.50 D in 61% and within 1.00 D in 88%; at 24 months there was a reported 20% loss of initial effect. Safety outcomes included a 2-line loss of best-corrected visual acuity in 2% of treated eyes and induced cylinder ≥2.00 D in <1%.

Outcomes measured

  • Uncorrected visual acuity (20/20 or better; 20/40 or better)
  • Manifest refractive spherical equivalent accuracy (within 0.50 D; within 1.00 D)
  • Stability/Regression of refractive effect at 24 months
  • Safety: loss of best-corrected visual acuity (2-line loss)
  • Safety: induced cylinder (≥2.00 D)

Limitations

  • Radiofrequency exposure parameters (e.g., frequency, power, SAR) not reported in abstract
  • No comparator/control group described in abstract
  • Follow-up reported up to 2 years; longer-term stability beyond 24 months not available in abstract
View raw extracted JSON
{
  "study_type": "other",
  "exposure": {
    "band": "RF",
    "source": "medical device (conductive keratoplasty)",
    "frequency_mhz": null,
    "sar_wkg": null,
    "duration": null
  },
  "population": "Hyperopic eyes (0.75 to 3.00 diopters spherical hyperopia) undergoing conductive keratoplasty",
  "sample_size": 400,
  "outcomes": [
    "Uncorrected visual acuity (20/20 or better; 20/40 or better)",
    "Manifest refractive spherical equivalent accuracy (within 0.50 D; within 1.00 D)",
    "Stability/Regression of refractive effect at 24 months",
    "Safety: loss of best-corrected visual acuity (2-line loss)",
    "Safety: induced cylinder (≥2.00 D)"
  ],
  "main_findings": "In a prospective multicenter clinical trial of 400 hyperopic eyes, 54% achieved 20/20 or better uncorrected visual acuity and 92% achieved 20/40 or better at 12 months. Refractive outcomes were within 0.50 D in 61% and within 1.00 D in 88%; at 24 months there was a reported 20% loss of initial effect. Safety outcomes included a 2-line loss of best-corrected visual acuity in 2% of treated eyes and induced cylinder ≥2.00 D in <1%.",
  "effect_direction": "benefit",
  "limitations": [
    "Radiofrequency exposure parameters (e.g., frequency, power, SAR) not reported in abstract",
    "No comparator/control group described in abstract",
    "Follow-up reported up to 2 years; longer-term stability beyond 24 months not available in abstract"
  ],
  "evidence_strength": "moderate",
  "confidence": 0.74,
  "peer_reviewed_likely": "yes",
  "keywords": [
    "conductive keratoplasty",
    "radiofrequency",
    "thermal technique",
    "hyperopia",
    "clinical trial",
    "multicenter",
    "safety",
    "effectiveness",
    "stability"
  ],
  "suggested_hubs": []
}
AI can be wrong. Always verify against the paper.

AI-extracted fields are generated from the abstract and metadata and may be incomplete or incorrect. This material is for informational purposes and is not medical advice.

Identifiers and source

DOI: Not supplied
PubMed: 17057816

Read the original paper →

Related papers

← Back to the Research Library