[Somnoplasty: treatment of chronic snoring using radiofrequency irradiation of the palate].

Acta otorrinolaringologica espanola · 2003 · Benefit · Low evidence

← Research stream
BenefitLow evidencePaper 3754

In 53 patients treated with radiofrequency energy to the palate (mean total energy ~2500 J per session; 75% received a second session), after a mean follow-up of 20 months no adverse effect was reported. The authors state the procedure reduces snoring, though…

Study snapshot

PublicationActa otorrinolaringologica espanola · 2003
Study typeother
Reported directionBenefit
Evidence ratingLow

Abstract

The goal of this study is to evaluate the efficacy and the safety of tissue reduction of the palate by means of radiofrequency for the treatment of snoring. Fifty-three patients were evaluated. Eight of them (15%) met criteria for mild OSAS. All of them underwent RF energy treatment with several ablation sites and the mean total energy administered was about 2500 J per treatment session. 40 patients (75%) underwent an additional RF treatment and the energy administered in the second session was the same as in the first one. We evaluated postoperative pain, snoring and the satisfaction of the patient and his enviroment. After a mean follow-up of 20 months no adverse effect was reported. The success diminishes with time as happens other surgical procedures (UPPP or LAUP) but the absence of serious adverse side-effects and the minimal postoperative pain support the use of RF as an effective procedure for reducing snoring.

Machine Enhanced Logic

AI evidence extraction

Structured fields below were generated from the paper’s abstract and metadata to make the evidence easier to inspect. Automated extraction may be incomplete or incorrect; verify important details against the original paper.

Study typeother
Effect directionbenefit
PopulationPatients with chronic snoring (15% mild OSAS)
Sample size53
ExposureRF
Evidence strengthLowConfidence: 74% · Peer reviewed: yes

Main findings

In 53 patients treated with radiofrequency energy to the palate (mean total energy ~2500 J per session; 75% received a second session), after a mean follow-up of 20 months no adverse effect was reported. The authors state the procedure reduces snoring, though success diminishes with time.

Outcomes measured

  • postoperative pain
  • snoring
  • patient and environment satisfaction
  • adverse effects/safety

Limitations

  • No control/comparator described in abstract
  • Efficacy results not quantified in abstract (no specific snoring/satisfaction metrics reported)
  • Frequency and dosimetry details (e.g., MHz, SAR) not reported
  • Follow-up duration reported as a mean; loss to follow-up not described
View raw extracted JSON
{
  "study_type": "other",
  "exposure": {
    "band": "RF",
    "source": "medical procedure (radiofrequency irradiation/ablation of palate)",
    "frequency_mhz": null,
    "sar_wkg": null,
    "duration": null
  },
  "population": "Patients with chronic snoring (15% mild OSAS)",
  "sample_size": 53,
  "outcomes": [
    "postoperative pain",
    "snoring",
    "patient and environment satisfaction",
    "adverse effects/safety"
  ],
  "main_findings": "In 53 patients treated with radiofrequency energy to the palate (mean total energy ~2500 J per session; 75% received a second session), after a mean follow-up of 20 months no adverse effect was reported. The authors state the procedure reduces snoring, though success diminishes with time.",
  "effect_direction": "benefit",
  "limitations": [
    "No control/comparator described in abstract",
    "Efficacy results not quantified in abstract (no specific snoring/satisfaction metrics reported)",
    "Frequency and dosimetry details (e.g., MHz, SAR) not reported",
    "Follow-up duration reported as a mean; loss to follow-up not described"
  ],
  "evidence_strength": "low",
  "confidence": 0.74,
  "peer_reviewed_likely": "yes",
  "keywords": [
    "somnoplasty",
    "snoring",
    "radiofrequency",
    "palate",
    "tissue reduction",
    "OSAS",
    "safety",
    "pain",
    "ablation"
  ],
  "suggested_hubs": []
}
AI can be wrong. Always verify against the paper.

AI-extracted fields are generated from the abstract and metadata and may be incomplete or incorrect. This material is for informational purposes and is not medical advice.

Identifiers and source

DOI: 10.1016/s0001-6519(03)78468-4
PubMed: 15164708

Read the original paper →

Related papers

← Back to the Research Library